The Golden Nica for 2023

Monday 12th June, 2023 - Bruce Sterling

*The Oscars of the tech-art world.

Prix Ars Electronica 2023 – these artists will be awarded

(Linz, 12.6.2023) 3,176 projects from 98 countries were submitted to the Prix Ars Electronica 2023 in four categories. This year’s Golden Nicas go to artists from South Korea, Hong Kong and Austria, as well as to an international collective.

The run for the highly endowed Golden Nicas was won by Ayoung Kim (KR), Winnie Soon (HK/UK), the collective Atractor + Semántica Productions (INT) and Sonja Höglinger (AT). They will each receive prize money of 10,000 euros and 3,000 euros in the “u19-create your world” category.

In addition to the Prix Ars Electronica, the “Isao Tomita Special Prize” supported by TOMITA information Hub and the “Ars Electronica Award for Digital Humanity,” made possible by the Austrian Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs, were also open for submissions in 2023. These are awarded to Robin Fox (AU) and the African initiative Masakhane, respectively.

The full press materials are available for download here.

The relevant press conference will take place today, June 12, 2023, at 9:30 a.m. (CEST) at the Ars Electronica Center/Linz. Online streams are provided:

Join us on Zoom
Meeting-ID: 932 0054 4614
Code: 243192

… or watch the full press talk later on Youtube.
Dear media representatives and content creators!

More information about the Prix Ars Electronica can be found here, printable photos can be downloaded via Flickr. General press releases, photos and videos are available on our mediaservice portal.

Interviews with artists and scientists as well as background reports and photo stories about Ars Electronica can be found on the Ars Electronica Blog.

Further inquiries: Nina Victoria Ebner /
Tel. +43 699 1778 1593

Kind regards from the Ars Electronica Media Relations Team